Holidays in Australia 2024

Australia | Australian Capital Territory | New South Wales | Northern Territory | Queensland | South Australia | Tasmania | Victoria | Western Australia

There are seven national holidays in Australia in 2024. However, the number of public holidays differs in each state or territory.

For example, Easter Saturday and Easter Sunday are public holidays in some states, but they are not public holidays in other states.

New Year's Day
New Year Holiday, celebrated on January 1, 2024, is the first day of the year on the modern Gregorian calendar, and it is one of the most popular holidays in the world.

Australia Day
Australia Day marks the anniversary of the arrival of the First Fleet of British ships in New South Wales and raised the British flag for the first time at Sydney Cove on January 26, 1788. It is observed on January 26, 2024.

Good Friday
Good Friday is a Christian holiday celebrating the crucifixion of Jesus and his death at Calvary. It is observed on Friday immediately preceding Easter Sunday. In 2024, Good Friday is celebrated on March 29 in Western churches and May 03 in Eastern churches.

Easter Monday
Easter Monday is to celebrate the resurrection of Jesus. The holiday is observed on April 01, 2024 in Western churches and May 06, 2024 in Eastern churches.

The acronym ANZAC stands for "Australian and New Zealand Army Corps"; the soldiers were known as Anzacs. ANZAC Day is one of the most important national occasions in Australia and New Zealand, and it commemorates all those who served and died in wars and peacekeeping operations. The holiday is observed on Apr 25, 2024.

Christmas Day
Christmas Day is celebrated on December 25, 2024, commemorating the birth of Jesus Christ, the Son of God. It is a sharing holiday, and people exchange Christmas gifts and cards with families and friends.

Boxing Day
Boxing Day is also known as St. Stephen's Day and is widely known as a shopping holiday in some countries. It falls on December 26, 2024.

The following is the list of public holidays in Australia 2024.

Holiday Date Weekday Note
New Year's Day Jan 01, 2024 Monday National Holiday
Australia Day Jan 26, 2024 Friday National Holiday
Labour Day Mar 04, 2024 Monday WA
Adelaide Cup Day Mar 11, 2024 Monday SA
Canberra Day Mar 11, 2024 Monday ACT
Eight Hours Day Mar 11, 2024 Monday TAS
Labour Day Mar 11, 2024 Monday VIC
Good Friday Mar 29, 2024 Friday National Holiday
Easter Saturday Mar 30, 2024 Saturday All except TAS, WA
Easter Sunday Mar 31, 2024 Sunday ACT, NSW, QLD,
Easter Monday Apr 01, 2024 Monday National Holiday
Easter Tuesday Apr 02, 2024 Tuesday TAS
ANZAC Day Apr 25, 2024 Thursday National Holiday
May Day May 06, 2024 Monday NT
Labour Day May 06, 2024 Monday QLD
Reconciliation Day May 27, 2024 Monday ACT
Western Australia Day Jun 03, 2024 Monday WA
King's Birthday Jun 10, 2024 Monday All except QLD, WA
Picnic Day Aug 05, 2024 Monday NT
Royal Queensland Show Aug 14, 2024 Wednesday QLD (Brisbane only)
Friday before the
AFL Grand Fina
Sept 27, 2024 Friday VIC
Queen's Birthday Sept 30, 2024 Monday WA
Labour Day Oct 07, 2024 Monday ACT, NSW, SA
King's Birthday Oct 07, 2024 Monday QLD
Melbourne Cup Nov 05, 2024 Tuesday VIC
Christmas Eve
Dec 24, 2024 Tuesday NT, QLD, SA
Christmas Day Dec 25, 2024 Wednesday National Holiday
Boxing Day Dec 26, 2024 Thursday National Holiday
New Year's Eve
Dec 31, 2024 Tuesday NT, SA

Please also check the working days in Australia in 2024.

Leave a Reply