Independence Day (Malaysia)

Independence Day, or Hari Merdeka, is a national holiday in Malaysia, and it is observed on August 31 each year.

Independence Day commemorates the Malayan Declaration of Independence on August 31, 1957, which ended over 100 years' control from the British Empire. The British first became formally involved in Malay politics in 1771, but Japan ruled Malaya and Singapore during the World War II.

Malaya was placed under British Military Administration after Japan's surrender at the end of the Second World War, but the administration was loose at that time.

From 1946 to 1948, the eleven states formed the Malayan Union, which was replaced by the Federation of Malaya due to opposition from Malay nationalists. The Federation achieved independence on August 31, 1957.

The following is the list of Independence Day in Malaysia from 2021 to 2025.

Independence DayAug 31, 2021Tuesday
Independence DayAug 31, 2022Wednesday
Independence DayAug 31, 2023Thursday
Independence DayAug 31, 2024Saturday
Independence DayAug 31, 2025Sunday

Leave a Reply