Islamic New Year

Islamic New Year, or Muharram, Hijri New Year, or Arabic New Year, is an important religious festival Muslims celebrate. It is observed on the 1st day of Muharram, the first month of the Islamic calendar.

Islamic New Year marks the beginning of the Islamic lunar calendar year. Since a day in the Islamic calendar is defined as beginning at sunset, Islamic New Year will cross two days in the Gregorian calendar.

For example, in 2021, Islamic New Year begins on Monday, August 9, and ends on Tuesday, August 10.

The following is the list of Islamic New Year from 2022 to 2026.

Islamic New YearJul 30, 2022Saturday
Islamic New YearJul 19, 2023Wednesday
Islamic New YearJul 07, 2024Sunday
Islamic New YearJun 26, 2025Thursday
Islamic New YearJun 16, 2026Tuesday

Please check more public holidays in Muslim communities:

Leave a Reply