Diwali (Deepawali)

Diwali, also known as Laxmi Puja or Deepawali, is a gazetted holiday in India and an important festival in Indian communities worldwide; it is celebrated in the Hindu Lunisolar month Kartika, which normally falls between mid-October and mid-November.

Diwali is the festival of lights in India and usually lasts five days. People light rows of lamps inside and outside their homes for the holiday, representing the triumph of light over dark and the power of good over evil.

The following is the Diwali / Deepawali in India from 2022 to 2026.

Diwali (Deepawali)Oct 24, 2022Monday
Diwali (Deepawali)Nov 12, 2023Sunday
Diwali (Deepawali)Nov 01, 2024Friday
Diwali (Deepawali)Oct 20, 2025Monday
Diwali (Deepawali)Nov 08, 2026Sunday

The five days of Diwali:

  • Day one (Dhanteras or Dhanatrayodashi) begins the Diwali festival, and people clean their homes. Buying gold or silver is a symbol of good fortune on this day.
  • Day two (Naraka Chaturdashi or Chhoti Diwali) is a day to pray for peace in the manes and to purchase festive food and sweets. People will also decorate their homes with candles and lamps.
  • Day three (Lakshmi Pujan or Kali Puja): This is the festival's main day, and firecrackers and fireworks will light up the night. Families and friends gather together to pray and share sweets.
  • Day four (Govardhan Puja): This is the first day of the new year, and it is a day that celebrates the bond between the wife and husband. Families and relatives gather together with gifts and festival meals for best wishes.
  • Day five (Bhai Duj): This is the last day of the festival, and it is a day that celebrates the sibling bond between brothers and sisters.

Leave a Reply