Chinese New Year

Chinese New Year, also known as Lunar New Year or Spring Festival, is the most important festival in China. Chinese New Year starts from "Spring Commences (立春)", which is the first solar term of the 24 solar terms.

Chinese New Year is the most important time for family union. During the Chinese New Year, hundreds of thousands of people who work outside will go back to their hometown to meet families and friends. Most businesses will also close to celebrate the festival.

In China, the holiday normally lasts 7 days, but the traditional celebration is much longer than that. The preparation starts about a week before the new year and the celebrations last till about 2 weeks after the new year.

There are 12 Chinese zodiac signs and each year is assigned an animal in a repeating 12-year cycle: rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, goat, monkey, rooster, dog, and pig.

The following is the list of Chinese New Year Day from 2022 to 2033 in one 12-year cycle.

Chinese New YearFeb 01, 2022TuesdayTiger
Chinese New YearJan 22, 2023SundayRabbit
Chinese New YearFeb 10, 2024SaturdayDragon
Chinese New YearJan 29, 2025WednesdaySnake
Chinese New YearFeb 17, 2026TuesdayHorse
Chinese New YearFeb 06, 2027SaturdayGoat
Chinese New YearJan 26, 2028WednesdayMonkey
Chinese New YearFeb 13, 2029TuesdayRooster
Chinese New YearFeb 03, 2030SundayDog
Chinese New YearJan 23, 2031ThursdayPig
Chinese New YearFeb 11, 2032WednesdayRat
Chinese New YearJan 31, 2033MondayOx

Please check more public holidays in China:

Leave a Reply