Our Lady of Sorrows

Our Lady of Sorrows, also known as Our Lady of the Seven Sorrows, is an important celebration in the Catholic Church, and it is observed on September 15 each year.

Our Lady of Sorrows celebration dates back to the 12th century, and it became widely celebrated in the Catholic Church in the 14th and 15th centuries. In 1913, the celebration date was fixed on September 15 by Pope Pius X.

The Seven Sorrows are often depicted as seven daggers stabbed into the Virgin's heart in common religious Catholic imagery, and here are the Seven Sorrows of Mary:

  • The Prophecy of Simeon
  • The Flight into Egypt
  • The Loss of the Child Jesus
  • Mary meets Jesus on the Via Dolorosa
  • The Crucifixion of Jesus on Mount Calvary
  • Jesus is Taken Down from the Cross
  • The Burial of Jesus

The following is the list of Our Lady of Sorrows from 2021 to 2025.

Our Lady of SorrowsSep 15, 2021Wednesday
Our Lady of SorrowsSep 15, 2022Thursday
Our Lady of SorrowsSep 15, 2023Friday
Our Lady of SorrowsSep 15, 2024Sunday
Our Lady of SorrowsSep 15, 2025Monday

Leave a Reply