Independence Day (Afghanistan)

Independence Day is a public holiday in Afghanistan, and it is observed on August 19 each year. The holiday commemorates the Anglo-Afghan Treaty of 1919, in which Afghanistan was granted complete neutral relations between Afghanistan and Britain.

From the 19th century to the early 20th century, three wars were fought between Afghanistan and the British.

The First Anglo-Afghan War was fought from 1839 to 1842. The British Indian force successfully occupied Kabul, the capital and largest city in Afghanistan, but was defeated by the Afghan forces due to strategic mistakes.

The Second Anglo-Afghan War was fought from 1878 to 1880. The British force defeated the Afghan force, which led to the new emir Abdur Rahman Khan and the start of the friendly relationship between the two countries. Afghanistan gave control of foreign affairs to the British in exchange for protection against the Russians and Persians.

The Third Anglo-Afghan War was fought from May 6 to August 8, 1919, which resulted in the Anglo-Afghan Treaty of 1919. Britain gave up the control of foreign affairs and recognized Afghanistan's independence, while Afghanistan accepted all previously agreed border arrangements with British India.

On August 19, 1919, King Amanullah Khan declared the Kingdom of Afghanistan a sovereign and fully independent state.

The following is the list of Independence Day in Afghanistan from 2022 to 2026.

Independence DayAug 19, 2022Friday
Independence DayAug 19, 2023Saturday
Independence DayAug 19, 2024Monday
Independence DayAug 19, 2025Tuesday
Independence DayAug 19, 2026Wednesday

Please check more public holidays in Afghanistan:

Leave a Reply