National Day of Mourning (Canada)

National Day of Mourning is a federal holiday in Canada and is observed on September 19. The holiday is to commemorate Queen Elizabeth II's funeral, which is held in London, United Kingdom, on this day in 2022. This also marks the end of the official period of mourning in Canada.

A national commemorative ceremony is held across the country in honor of the life and service of Her Majesty. Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II was born on April 21, 1926, and acceded to the throne on February 6, 1952. She was crowned on June 2, 1953, and reigned for over 70 years. She died on September 8, 2022, at the age of 96.

National Day of Mourning is a federal holiday in Canada, but provinces have different decisions:

The following five provinces or territories will observe September 19 as an one-time holiday:

  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Nova Scotia
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Yukon

The following provinces or territories will not observe September 19 as a holiday:

  • Alberta
  • British Columbia, K-12 public schools and public post-secondary institutions
  • Manitoba, only for non-essential government services and offices
  • Ontario
  • Quebec
  • Saskatchewan
  • Northwest Territories
  • Nunavut, all government offices and agencies will close Monday to mark the day.

Please check more public holidays in Canada:

Leave a Reply