Cyprus National Holiday

Cyprus National Holiday is a public holiday in Cyprus, and it is observed on April 1 each year. The holiday commemorates the start of the War of Independence against the British Empire in 1821.

Cyprus was conquered by Ottoman in 1571 and was under Ottoman rule until 1878 when the Ottoman Empire was defeated by the Eastern Orthodox coalition led by the Russian Empire. The Ottoman Empire leased Cyprus to the British Empire, and in exchange, the British Empire uses it as a military base protecting the Ottoman Empire from the Russian Empire.

In 1955, the Ethniki Organosis Kyprion Agoniston (EOKA) was founded by Greek Cypriot nationalists to end British rule and unite Cyprus with Greece. The campaign lasted until 1959 when the London and Zürich Agreement was signed between Turkey, Greece, the United Kingdom, and Cyprus.

On August 16, 1960, Cyprus proclaimed independence after signing the London and Zürich Agreement, and Makarios III was the first president of Cyprus.

The following is the list of Cyprus National Holiday from 2022 to 2026.

Cyprus National HolidayApr 01, 2022Friday
Cyprus National HolidayApr 01, 2023Saturday
Cyprus National HolidayApr 01, 2024Monday
Cyprus National HolidayApr 01, 2025Tuesday
Cyprus National HolidayApr 01, 2026Wednesday

Please check more public holidays in Cyprus:

Leave a Reply