Constitution Day (Micronesia)

Constitution Day is a public holiday in the Federated States of Micronesia on May 10 each year. The holiday commemorates the anniversary when the Federated States of Micronesia constitution was adopted in 1979.

The Federated States of Micronesia, also Micronesia, is an island country in Oceania, and it consists of four states: Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei, and Kosrae.

Spain claimed the islands in the early 16th century but sold them to Germany in 1899 after the defeat in the Spanish-American War 1898. During World War I, Japan invaded and acquired the islands in 1919 and surrendered after World War II. As a result, the United Nations created the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands (TTPI) in 1947 with the administration of the United States.

On May 10, 1979, four Trust Territory districts formed the Federated States of Micronesia, but other districts, including Palau, the Marshall Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands, did not participate. The constitution was drafted in 1975 based on the constitution of the United States, and it was officially adopted on May 10, 1979.

The following is the list of Constitution Day in the Federated States of Micronesia from 2021 to 2025.

Constitution DayMay 10, 2021Monday
Constitution DayMay 10, 2022Tuesday
Constitution DayMay 10, 2023Wednesday
Constitution DayMay 10, 2024Friday
Constitution DayMay 10, 2025Saturday

Please check more public holidays in the Federated States of Micronesia:

Leave a Reply